8​:​30 Newfoundland

by Mike Plume

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price




"8:30 Newfoundland"

In August of 2006. Jenny, Ruby and I, along with our dog Lucy, moved back to Tennessee
I had just been given an opportunity to write songs for a living again.
So we jumped at the chance.
I moved back to Nashville with the sole purpose of having someone else record my songs.
That way I could stay home, write songs and walk my daughter to school.
You know... live the life.
One day in early December of 2006 I started writing a song with Jason McCoy.
We wrote the first verse and never bothered with it again.
A year later, I found myself in the familiar situation of having no luck getting my songs recorded.
A year after that, I then found myself in dreaded, yet predictable position, of losing my job as a songwriter.
I was once again at loose ends.
Forty years old and not sure what to do with my life.
Then one day I finished the song that I had started with McCoy.
I called it “8:30 Newfoundland”.
This song was different.
This one felt like something special.
Then the idea of doing a new album came around.
Then the thought came up that maybe I should get the band back together and record one more album for the hell of it.
I called the guys and they were all in!
Slowly the MPB wheels started to roll again.
I started writing songs that felt like songs that only we could, would and should do.
So we did.
It was great to be in the same room with the guys again.
It was great to count that first song in and just let it flow.
We all felt it.
Mike Plume

Recorded from May 2008 through March 2009
in Nashville, Tennessee.
Released in July 2009.
Produced by Brent Maher and Charles Yingling.

Mike Plume- guitars and vocals
Ernie Basiliadis- drums
Dave Klym- guitars
Derek Mazurek- bass guitar
Ben Wilson- bass guitar

Kevin Dailey- keys and bass guitar on "There's Nothing I Don't Love About You"
Dan Dugmore- pedal steel and banjo on "Give A Little"
Jenny Orenstein- vocals
Clayton Bellamy- vocals
Brent Maher- vocals and percussion
Billy Montana- vocals

All songs written by Mike Plume (SOCAN/ASCAP)

"8:30 Newfoundland" and "Good As Gone Blues" were written with Jason McCoy (SOCAN)
"Stay Where Your To" was written with Brian Byrne (SOCAN) and Clayton Bellamy (SOCAN)
"Like A Bullet From A Gun" was written with Naoise Sheridan (ASCAP)
"There's Nothing I Don't Love About You" was written with Trevor Rosen (ASCAP)
"Free" was written with Keni Thomas (ASCAP)
"Junior" was written with Sean Locke (BMI)
"Keeping Time With The Telephone Poles" was written with Kent Agee (BMI)
"Make It Up As We Go" was written with Clayton Bellamy (SOCAN)
"You Ain't Living If You Don't Die Trying" was written with Josh Finlayson (SOCAN)
"Looking For You (A Travelogue Of Sorts) was written with Jenny Orenstein (ASCAP)


released July 1, 2009



all rights reserved


Mike Plume Edmonton, Alberta

I was born in Moncton New Brunswick in the year of the White Album.
I'm old enough to know better and still young enough not to care.

contact / help

Contact Mike Plume

Streaming and
Download help